Emily

You often don’t get to witness inspiration and transcendent talent in real life. We can live our whole existence seeing things of beauty from a far, and being touched by the works and abilities of others while never having a personal connection. This beautiful world that surrounds us is full of people who create beautiful things and have amazing talents, but those truly brilliant souls in our world are few and far between.

This weekend has been the culmination of a long road for a woman of pure, unadulterated, and boundless musical genius. Her path to where she is now wasn’t the easy one. Despite everything that was in her way, she overcame the obstacles and persevered to follow her dreams. She never gave up despite the fears that she faced and the desire that would often strike her. Doubt would eat at her confidence, but she would not give up. She fought against all odds, and now she is an Magna Cum Laude Honor Graduate with a Bachelors Degree in Music Performance.

She did all of this over the past several years while being a mother and a wife. She did it while moving to an unknown future, with only the barest of ideas and plans for where to go forward. She has blossomed from a girl with a viola to a professional musician. Watching her growth as a person, a musician, an academician, a wife, and a mother over the past several years has been like watching an artist craft a masterpiece. It has been like hearing a composer create their quintessential work. The best part is that I know this is only the beginning.

I feel so blessed to have her in my life, and to be able witness her talent and beauty firsthand. When she plays viola, it is so beautiful and so passionate. When she studies music, she is so thorough and so eager to learn. When I watch her with our daughter, she is so loving and fun. Some days, I wonder how she has the strength to make it through, but then I would remember the fire I would see in her eyes. Her eyes are always alight with a beautiful flame when she is playing viola, learning or sharing about music, or spending time with Madelyn. Her heart and soul are always in every thing she does, and I love seeing the results.

Emily, I am blown away by you. I stand here proud to be your husband, partner, and best friend. You have been my rock in troubled times, and I am so proud to have been yours. I know that the days of doubt and turbulent times we faced were meant to make us stronger, and they would pay off in the end. You made it! Despite everything I have said here, words still could not express the admiration, love, pride, and awe that I feel for you. You are such a beautiful and talented woman, and I cannot imagine my life without you. I am so very proud of you, and everything you have done. You have inspired me in so many ways, and you continue to amaze me on a daily basis. I love you to the ends of the earth, and I will always be your biggest supporter, your writing partner, your listening ear, and anything and everything you need me to be.

Emily, you truly are a one of a kind beauty and talent. There is no one else in the world like you. Never forget that, my love.

13247689_541585771485_569881119749005950_o

One thought on “Emily

Leave a Reply

